Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘new york auto insurance’

Graduated drivers license systems in the United States are designed to give young drivers the opportunity to practice driving with various restrictions in place. With traffic accidents being the leading cause of death among teenagers in the United States, graduated licensing programs have been designed to reduce teen accidents and fatalities. Graduated licensing laws vary and not all states have an official program. Recognizing the importance of driving experience, New York-like many other states-has adopted a graduated driver’s licensing program for drivers under the age of 18.

In general, an individual must have a New York State driver license or a valid driver license from another US state or from Canada to drive in New York. Additionally, in most cases you can drive in New York if you have a valid driver license from another country. The minimum driving age in NYS is 16.
The State of New York has what is called a “graduated license law”, as mentioned above. It was enacted in September of 2003 and it affects all junior drivers (16 and 17 years old) and senior permit holders in New York State.

What is a “Limited Junior License?
According to this article , a Limited Junior License is an “intermediate step between a learner permit and a “full” Junior license, allowing young drivers (16 and 17-year olds) time to gain driving experience before obtaining unsupervised driving privileges”.

What Can’t You do with a Limited Junior License
For all permit holders, regardless of your age or when your received your learners permit: Your supervising driver must be at least 21 years old.

For all junior learner permit and junior license holders, regardless of when you received your learner permit: No more than two passengers under the age of 21 are allowed in the vehicle unless they are members of your immediate family; this does not apply if the accompanying driver is your licensed parent, guardian, person “in loco parentis,” driver education teacher or driving school instructor.

Are there any restrictions on Limited Junior Licenses?
Limited Junior Licenses are subject to the restrictions listed below. These restrictions based on what specific area in New York you are from.

In Nassau County, Suffolk County (including Long Island), Westchester County, Putnam County, & Rockland County, the restrictions are:

Between 5AM and 9PM: Driver is not allowed to drive alone. They are required to be supervised by a parent/guardian who is 21 or older and has a valid license for the specific vehicle that he/she is driving.

Between 9PM and 5AM: Driver is not allowed to drive under ANY circumstance.

How should a parent keep track of teen drivers?
If you have a child under 18 years old that is driving, you have the option of being automatically notified by mail whenever the teenager has a traffic conviction, license suspension, or reported accident.

To enroll in this program, fill out this form and mail it to:
Office for the Younger Driver
NYS Department of Motor Vehicles
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228

For more information about this specific program (known as TEENS – Teen Electronic Event Notification Service), please read this document, published on the New York State DMV site.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »

You may not realize it, but the insurance rates you pay for your car can vary dramatically depending on the insurance company,  the coverage you request and the kind of car you drive. Listed below are a number of things you can do right now to lower your insurance costs.

 

1. Ask for Higher Deductibles.

Deductibles represent the amount of money you pay before you make a claim. By requesting higher deductibles on collision and comprehensive (fire and theft) coverage, you can lower your costs substantially. For example, increasing your deductible from $200 to $500 or $1000 could reduce your collision and comprehensive cost by 15% to 30%.
2. Drop Collision and/or Comprehensive Coverage’s on Older Cars.
It may not be cost effective to have collision or comprehensive coverage on cars worth less than $1,000 because any claim you make would not substantially exceed annual cost and deductible amounts. You can go to many online sources to check the value of your car. 

3. Buy a “Low Profile” Car.
Before you buy new or used car, check into insurance costs. Cars that are expensive to repair, or that are a favorite target for thieves, have higher insurance costs.

 

4. Take Advantage of Low Mileage Discounts.
Some companies, such as
State Farm Insurance, offer discounts to motorists who drive fewer than a predetermined number of miles a year. 

 

5. Consider Insurance Cost When Making a Move.  

Costs tend to be lowest in rural communities and highest in center cities where there is more traffic congestion. 

 

 

6. Find out about Automatic Seat Belt or Air Bag Discounts.
You may be able to take advantage of discounts on some coverage if you have automatic seat belts and/or air bags. 

 

7. Ask about Anti-lock Brakes.

Anti-lock brakes improve steering control and stability when a car is brought to a stop, thus reducing accidents. Some states, including Florida, New Jersey and New York, require insurers to give discounts for cars equipped with the brakes and some insurers have a nationwide discount in place. 

 

8. Inquire about Other Discounts.
Some insurers, such as State Farm, offer discounts for more than one car, no accidents in three years, drivers over a certain age, driver training courses, anti-theft devices, and good grades for students. 

 

If you live in the state of New York and have more questions about insurance coverage, contact Long Island Insurance for more info.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read Full Post »